Sew kind of you to ask! 😉

I’ve always been intrigued by sewing, my Grandma did a lot of sewing when I was growing up and I always admired her for that. She also has this super cool old sewing machine. It’s a light blue Singer sewing machine that fits into a wooden table. I’m sure you’ve seen one similar. I’ve always admired that too…because anyone who loves to sew loves old sewing machines.

Anyway, I think I was in about 7th grade when I took Home-Ec. I loved the class, my teacher was odd, but that’s beside the point. I don’t remember much of it, I just remember learning the basics of a sewing machine. We also sewed our first and only project in the class which was a pillow. Mine was purple zebra print. I don’t have it anymore but I was SO proud of that goofy, crooked little thing.

My sewing TOOK OFF (this is where they need to have a sarcasm key) from there…I started an amateur pillow sewing business with my 12 year old friend. We named it “Fairytale Fluffs.” We spent our sleepovers hand sewing pillows (they weren’t half bad from what I remember). Her mom sold tie-dyed clothing and other super cool artsy stuff at outdoor markets, so we joined her a few times. And with all that money we made, we purchased our first padded bras!! Too much? ….Hey, facts are facts. With the leftover money we bought her mom a Dr. Pepper and a candy bar as a “thank you” for taking us to Target. That was basically the end of our business.

My sewing career took a nose dive from there. My interest in sewing was still there but hidden away somewhere deep in my brain. It didn’t re-surface until Pinterest became huge. I saw all these things I wanted to make but couldn’t because of two reasons. 1. I didn’t have a sewing machine. 2. I didn’t know how!

In the meantime, I used my husband’s grandma’s sewing machine. And the first project I made was a SUPER AWESOME batman cape for my son. He wanted one so badly and I just thought these $10 capes at Walmart aren’t even that cool…I could totally make a cooler one. So I did! And you know what? Without a pattern, it was a pretty awesome cape! See for yourself!

Screen Shot 2015-02-24 at 11.03.58 AM Screen Shot 2015-02-24 at 11.07.43 AMThat’s right friends…it was reversible!! Cause I’m awesome!

From there I just knew I NEEDED a machine because my options were endless. So I begged for a machine and I got one for Christmas. It was one of the best Christmas presents EVER! I started playing around and learned to make rice bags. Which are basically heaven-sent when you’re cold. I love them. We don’t have enough of them and I know how to make them. But I’ve sold a few here and there and made lots for friends and family. Then I stepped up my game and started making blankets. Like the one you saw in my last post that I made for my niece Hayden. Here’s the picture if you missed it!

Screen Shot 2015-02-24 at 9.52.33 AMCute, eh?

And then I thought if I can make a blanket and a rice bag and a cape…I can make almost anything….so I started working on baby items because that just made the most sense to me with having a new baby niece.

Screen Shot 2015-02-24 at 11.19.41 AM Screen Shot 2015-02-24 at 11.19.59 AM Screen Shot 2015-02-24 at 11.20.18 AMAnd I really wish I could find pictures of the awesome baby changing mats I’ve made but I can’t find any! Juuuust Kidding…found one!

unnamed unnamed1This is the baby changing mat! So cute right? I think so.

Click here to see how to make one for yourself or your friend. This is a great tutorial!!

After all this baby stuff I thought…well…people are gonna want their baby’s names on these things. So I decided I needed an embroidery machine…HA! Those are outrageously priced. But because I have an amazing amazon-obsessed husband. He scored a great deal and got me one just before Christmas so I had time to use it on some gifts! I’m still working on this machine and definitely haven’t figured out everything, but here’s a bib I made for Hayden recently. It says “That’s it! I’m going to Grandma’s” …..she LOVES her Grandma(s).

Screen Shot 2015-02-24 at 10.56.56 AMShe looks unhappy because I sewed a button and elastic band onto this bib…per mom’s request. She likes to pull the velcro ones off! She’s digging the bib…she just doesn’t like the the way it attaches…sorry kiddo!

Anyway, that’s how I got into sewing. I’ve made all kinds of other things like curtains and throw pillows, and blankets (for big people too!) and I even made a couple of quilts (but not anything spectacular!)

It’s hump day!!

Mandee

