Six Soulful Months?
Six Sew-Full Months?
It’s been six months….really thats all I’m getting at. It’s been too long. I’ve not been as crafty as I want to be, but I have been crafty. And I’m back to share all that with you!! So, I’m sorry I’ve been gone so long. Hopefully with finals coming up and the holidays around the corner, I won’t get held back on all of this. My plan is to do a lot of homemade gifts this year for Christmas, so I should have some things to post and share with you…but some I may not be able to share until AFTER Christmas, can’t be ruining any surprises!

Anywho, here’s a few projects I have done over the last six months or so! (Please ignore how fuzzy the pictures are, idk what the deal is! Lame!)

FIRST of all, I was jut reading my last post from May and it said that I wanted to make a computer case that was a mixture of a cute pattern but I definitely wanted to have a bow. SO I did that. I measured out the dimensions of my computer and got to sewing. I followed the instructions from my pinterest pin for the bow and just adjusted the size accordingly. I LOVED how it turned out. I did a mixture of colors and patterns to make it eclectic and funky, but also modern. I did get a new computer since then, BUT it still fits in this case. Thank goodness! I love how it turned out, and I lined it with cute fabric that also has a little pocket for my charger.

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.53.48 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.53.57 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.54.06 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.54.15 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.54.25 PM

Next, I made this quilt wall hanging. I had bought some precut strips of fabric that I had bought with a gift card. I didn’t have any purpose for them when I bought them, I just wanted them because I just did. That’s how I roll. So once I got them home, I really wanted to do something with them. Since my sewing room used to be Eliott’s office it still had a bunch of stuff that wasn’t pretty and frilly and womanly, let alone anything that resembled a sewing room, so I decided to make something to hang on my wall and start taking his stuff down! (Sorry Babe!) I came up with this on my own, It was fairly easy and I did it in about an hour or so. It looks like a pot holder in the picture but its about 24x24in. It’s a nice touch to my sewing room!

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.53.33 PM

Remember that quilt I was making and told you I’d keep you updated on a long time ago? Well it’s been finished since July! Haha! I LOVE this quilt. I love it because I pieced it myself, I cut out everything all by myself, I quilted it myself and binded myself. I did it all BY MYSEEELLLFF. And I kept it for myself. Which isn’t really something I do all that often when I make projects! I have used this little lap quilt more than any of my other throw blankets, it’s just perfect when you’re on the couch.

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.52.49 PM

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.53.01 PM

And since we are on the subject of quilts….check out what I got in the mail!!!!
Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.49.07 PM

This my friends is a picture of the note and signed fabric scrap I received from JENNY DOAN herself! YEAH. That’s right!!! It was an incredible surprise from my loving husband. He sent her an email and told her all about me and how and why I love to sew all the time and told her how much I loved her!! Isn’t that too sweet?! Of both of them really!! I have the fabric in a frame, but I still need to frame the note. (Jenny Doan sent me mail…..cray. cray. ((ALSO if you don’t know who Jenny Doan is, check out some of my older posts.)))

And then there were the curtains. We have some totally awesome French Doors for our front door. However, the beautiful windows go from top to bottom and made me feel like there were creepers looking inside my house all the time. SO I went out to see about making curtains. And I decided I wanted something thermal to keep the light out and heat/cold out a little better. That’s when I decided that was going to be too much work and I bought them at Walmart. BUT they didn’t have anything that was the correct length for my door OR that had rod pockets on the top and bottom. So, I bought what I wanted, measured cut and sewed it into what I needed to be…so it counts as a project. I still want to make little tie backs for them, but right now, I’m just glad that it gives us a little bit of privacy! (also, yes, I am obsessed with different patterns. No, those don’t match. Yes, I did it on purpose. And I like it.)

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.51.51 PM

When fall/autumn came around I decided that I wanted some fall decor. But I didn’t have much money, so I headed to my fabric cabinet and looked for some fall colors to make a couple throw pillows. This one is the one I finished first and I love how it turned out. It looks great in our living room and gives a splash of fall. However, I don’t have a better picture for you, sorry! Haha!

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.47.46 PM

Then, I found this really cool idea on pinterest and I copied it for the next pillow. You can find the link here to see the idea! I then, just made a pattern for the leaves and cut them out, and then cut out a trunk, lined them all out like I wanted and sewed them onto some muslin fabric. I don’t have a picture of it sewn on yet because I haven’t finished the pillow, but the leaves and trunk are actually attached with thread now not just pins…but this is a good idea of what it looks like. I love it, it’s a wonderful fall pillow!

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.47.35 PM

This next one involved ZERO sewing BUT I love it so much. I work in an elementary school and my creativity gets to flowing on occasion. I made this poster that I totally copied off someone on pinterest…click here to see for yourself! But I did color and make this all by myself….just totally stole the idea….completely. Can you blame me?

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.46.41 PM

And last but not least, I redid a dining room chair. It was super exciting. I know there are people do way cooler things than this…BUT I was so proud of myself. It makes me want to do more things like this. I’m really into DIY stuff right now, it’s ridiculous!! I think I still want to paint the top wooden part of the chair white, but my husband disagrees, so we shall see…anywho here it is. There’s the before, what I was planning and then my after…I still need to do the other three. But I have to get more staples for the staple gun first!

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.46.21 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.45.59 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 2.45.53 PM

Well I’m off…going to go dream about what I want to do next. Hope you enjoyed the update!!

Hugs!
Mandee

